What Ru Paul’s Drag Race Means to Me

10

Before I started watching RuPaul’s Drag Race I thought that drag was simply just a man dressed as a woman. But after watching it, I learned that drag was so much more than that. It isn’t about being a man or a woman, being straight or gay: It’s about expressing yourself through creativity. It’s also about having confidence in yourself.

15.gif

This show pushed my love for makeup, fashion, beauty — even further. I have loved fashion since I was a child. I got my fashion inspirations from television and teen magazines. I started doing my makeup back in tenth grade, or at least attempting. I remember taking the pointy part of a pen top and dipping it in a mascara bottle to use as eyeliner.  The show taught me that makeup and fashion is art. There is no certain way to create art. There is no such thing as perfect makeup or the perfect look. Your face is a canvas. No. Your body is a canvas.

14

The show has also helped with my confidence. I enjoy seeing people not being afraid to be who they are, especially with all of the bigotry in this world. It’s courageous. I could relate to their stories of battling depression and inner demons, being bullied, not feeling good enough, it goes on. They overcame these struggles and did not let it get in the way of following their dreams. It inspires me to do the same. I grew up feeling like I was too weird. Kids in school would make comments like that and had an effect on my self-esteem. I spent years constantly trying to adjust myself to fit other people’s standards. Learning to love who I am is still an ongoing process. But seeing these queens who are all unique in their own way and comfortable in their own skin is everything.

13

I’ve often heard drag queens describe being in drag as being another person. Some even say that they gained confidence from it. Which is another thing I can relate to.  As a child I remember creating characters at home and pretending to be them. I dealt with insecurities and felt like I’d rather be anyone else. I also took an interest in acting because I enjoyed pretending to be someone else.

113.gif

The show introduced me to the world of drag. It inspired me to keep doing what I love. I love creating and I’ll try anything that involves creating. I’ve even taken an interest in doing drag. It combines the four things I love: Fashion, makeup, art, and creating. I look forward to learning more about it so that I can understand it more.

11.gif
I even learned a little bit more about having confidence in myself. It taught me more about embracing my personality including my “weirdness”. On top of being entertaining, RuPaul’s drag race has helped me, which is why it has become one of my favorite shows.

4 thoughts on “What Ru Paul’s Drag Race Means to Me

Add yours

  1. YES! The Queens’ bravery and honesty has inspired me too. It takes serious balls (pun intended) to do drag. It made me believe that I could do anything. I’m also a big fan of avant garde makeup so I picked up some creative inspiration from the girls too. My absolute favorite show.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑